+91 44 22357800

Appadurai Chair


The Professional chair was constituted in the year 1982 in the Anna University by erstwhile TNEB. The purpose of the chair when it was formed was mainly to promote knowledge of TANGEDCO Engineers in the field of Thermal Plant Operation and Maintenance. Subsequently, the scope of the chair was expanded to include other fields of power system studies, T & D Planning, etc., In July 1986, the syndicate of Anna University approved that the professional chair be known as Appadurai Chair for Power Systems, named after Thiru V.P. Appadurai, who was the Chief engineer from 1953 to 1962, then the Chairman of the State Electricity Board from 1962 to 1968.