Student Profiles

Department of Media Sciences
College of Engineering, Guindy
Anna University, Chennai, India

Anna University is the first university to take up the idea of India's University Grants Commission (UGC) to start MSc (Electronic Media) programmes. It offers a five-year integrated MSc programme and a two-year MSc programme in Electronic Media. The Department of Media Sciences was started in January 2002, branching off from the UGC's Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC).

In 2008, the Department of Media Sciences started offering MSc (Science and Technology Communication), initially funded by the National Council of Science and Technology Communication (NCSTC) of the Department of Science and Technology, Government of India. This is the first such job-oriented degree programme in South India.The department also runs a doctoral programme. Unique to Anna University, the PhD candidates undergo coursework in the areas related to their research before getting into research work.


The department has four recognized doctoral supervisors specializing in areas such as Science Communication, Environmental Communication, Educational Communication, Journalism, e-Governance, and Children & Media.

These programmes give students a firm foothold in the media industry. They are structured to develop individual skills, knowledge base and creativity of students, at the same time, honing the technical base, for a wide choice of career options. The department has well-equipped classrooms and media laboratories. All the students get placed in media companies or information technology companies by the time they complete their degree.