About The University

Anna University was established in 1970 as unitary type Technical University amalgamating 4 Institutions: College of Engineering Guindy, Alagappa College of Technology, Madras Institute of Technology and School of Architecture and Planning. It offers higher education in Engineering, Technology and Allied Sciences. Besides promoting Research and disseminating knowledge gained there from, it also fosters cooperation between the academic and industrial communities. The University receives grants from State and Central Government, National Research Laboratories and International Organizations. This enables the University to keep pace with new development and emerging Technologies.

Department of Ceramic Technology

In the emerging scenario, Advanced Ceramic materials have become increasingly important due to their better tailor made properties, longer life and lower costs. The growth of Ceramic industry in India during the past fifty years is commendable. The growing demand for trained manpower in Ceramic industry led to launch of M.Tech degree programme in Ceramic Technology under The Department of Chemical Engineering in Anna University during the academic year 1990-91. Research activities leading of Ph.D degree was initiated from 1992. Division of Ceramic Technology was formed in the year 1993. During the academic year 1996-97, B.Tech degree programme in Ceramic Technology was started. Division of Ceramic Technology was elevated to Centre for Ceramic Technology from 1999. The admission for B.Tech Ceramic Technology programme was briefly suspended in 1999 and was restarted from 2002.The Centre was upgraded to Department status from 2003.

The Department of Ceramic Technology offers B.Tech, M.Tech, M.s (By Research) and Ph.D programme in Ceramic Technology about 250 students are enrolled under various Programmes in Ceramic Technology ever year. During the course of programme, the students study subjects ranging from Traditional to Advanced Ceramics, their processing, properties and applications. The Department has laboratory facilities for carrying out processing, fabrication, chemical analysis and characterization of ceramic materials. The teaching workload in the Department is shared by 4 Regular Faculties (2 Professors, 2 Associate Professor and 13 Contract Faculties).

The Department has produced 42 Ph.D theses so far and currently 30 Research Scholars are working for their Ph.D.’s. 24 National /International conferences/seminars/workshops have been organized so far in the Department. 75 Research Papers have been published in National/International Journals so far. The Research activities are focused on the Development of Structural Ceramics, Electronic Ceramics, Magnetic Ceramics, Bio-Ceramics, Abrasives and Refractories. 3 DST projects worth Rs. 1 crore have been completed. Currently one DST-FIST project and one ARDB DRDO project worth of 1 crore are ongoing in the Department.


1.  Short term goals

2.  Long term goals