University Grants Commission (UGC) - Country Wide Class Room (CWCR)

As early as in 1984 University Grants Commission (UGC), New Delhi has launched Country Wide Class Room (CWCR) and production facilities at 6 universities in India through establishing media centres in the name of Audio Visual Research Centres (AVRCs) (AVRCS) (later these centres have been renamed as Educational Multimedia Research Centres (EMMRCS). read more..

Consortium for Educational Communication (CEC) is an Inter University Centre, established by University Grants Commission, on 26th May 1993, under section 12 (ccc) of its act of 1956. CEC is registered as a society and enjoys Central University Status. read more..
Video/Film Editing in Final Cut Pro X, from January 28, 2023

Educational Multimedia Research Centre

The Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC), Anna University, Chennai is one of the twenty two media centres in India, established in 1985 as Audio Visual Research Centre (AVRC), by the University Grants Commission with an objective of disseminating knowledge in the field of Science and Technology to society through Educational Television (ETV) programmes using electronic media.

The University Grants Commission task force on Educational Television has set forth the following objectives for the media centres:

® To upgrade, update and enrich the quality of education through television and radio.

® To introduce the newly emerging knowledge using media in education.

® To take the educational television to the remote and accessible parts of the country.

® To produce interactive multimedia learning materials.

® To provide training in audio / video / multimedia production.

It began its programme production in the year 1987. The Centre is concentrating on programme production on syllabus oriented lecture series in various subjects for undergraduate students. The Centre has produced a number of programmes in various subjects like Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics, Computer Science and Engineering, Philosophy, Chinese Language, Japanese Language, History and Documentary, etc are as follows.

® Documentary programmes = 476

® Video lecture programmes = 774

® e-content programmes = 234

® e-content under NME ICT -Phase 1 (Computer Science) = 405

® e-content under NME ICT -Phase 1 (Applied Electronics) = 293

® e-content under NME ICT -Phase 2 = 1504

Now the centre is concentrating on MOOCs online courses offered through an ICT platform that enables students to access high quality video lectures, reading resources; allows them to participate in discussion forums; take tests and also earn academic grades. MOOCs may either be Credit or Non-Credit bearing under semester system.

Now the media centre has contributed much to the Prime Minister's Digital India by developing programmes in subjects in Applied Sciences in SWAYAM Portal for Direct-To-Home (DTH) Programme. Prof. Dr. B.Umamaheswari, Director, EMMRC and the Co-ordinator of MHRD Channel No : 10 of Prasar Bharathi, that this broadcastings will help interested candidates to learn more at anytime, anywhere and any number of times. DTH programmes have been made daily available in exclusive of MHRD Government of India TV channels.

® Board of Management meeting which was held on 11.11.2017 at EMMRC, Anna University.

Anna University is the first University to take up the idea of India's University Grants Commission (UGC) to start MSc (Electronic Media) Programmes. It offers a five-year integrated MSc programme and a two-year MSc programme in Electronic Media. The Department of Media Sciences was started in Janurary 2002, branching off from the UGC'S Educational Multimedia Research Centre (EMMRC).read more.